RSS

Diabetes-Sniffing Dogs

25 Apr

As we do every time we leave town, last summer we packed up our sweet pooch,
Simon, to go stay with our neighbor and her Black Lab while we were gone. Simon has a real bond with our neighbor Miss T, who is diabetic. Well, when we got home, Miss T told me an amazing story. She related how she had had a diabetic seizure while home alone, which is caused by plummeting blood sugar levels. She woke up with Simon crouching over her, licking her face, pushing on her with his nose, and doing all he could to wake her up. She believes if it weren’t for him, she would never have woken up enough to consume the sugar necessary to bring her out of danger. She is absolutely convinced that Simon saved her life.

I must have displayed disbelief in my face, because she soon sent me a link about diabetes-sniffing dogs. I learned that hypo alert dogs are trained for this very thing – to smell low blood sugar and alert their companion by barking, licking or whining.  I started to look at my dog with new eyes. He became even more special to me with my new belief that he had instinctively saved my friend’s life. I became determined that he deserved the very best I could give him.

I think we can all agree that ‘the very best’ we can give our pets is good health. Good health for our animals, based in good nutrition, is a cornerstone of Dogma Pet Supply. They carry several choices for you to provide your dog with a well-balanced diet of natural and wholesome ingredients, including such brands as Evo, Great Life, Pepper Dogz, and Honest Kitchen, just to name a few. Our four-legged friends are so tremendously loyal to us. We can thank them for all they selflessly give by serving them food that’s good enough to eat.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
